

Arizona Medical Board and Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants

1740 W. Adams St, Suite 4000 • Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Home Page: <u>http://www.azmd.gov</u> Telephone (480) 551-2700 • Fax (480) 551-2705 • In-State Toll Free (877) 255-2212

DRAFT MINUTES FOR THE BIANNUAL JOINT OFFICERS MEETING OF THE ARIZONA MEDICAL BOARD AND ARIZONA REGULATORY BOARD OF PHYSICIANS ASSISTANTS Held on Friday, April 5, 2024 1740 W. Adams St., Board Room A • Phoenix, Arizona

Arizona Medical Board Officers Gary R. Figge, M.D., Chair Bruce A. Bethancourt, M.D., F.A.C.P., Vice-Chair Lois E. Krahn, M.D., Secretary Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants Officers Susan Reina, P.A.-C, Chair John J. Shaff, PA-C, D.F.A.A.P.A., Vice-Chair

GENERAL BUSINESS

A. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Figge called the teleconference to order at 7:59 a.m.

B. ROLL CALL

The following members participated virtually: PA Reina and PA Shaff.

The following members were present: Dr. Figge, Dr. Bethancout and Dr. Krahn.

ALSO PRESENT

The following Board staff participated in the teleconference: Patricia E. McSorley, Executive Director; Raquel Rivera, Interim Deputy Director and Michelle Robles, Board Operations Manager. Also present: Carrie Smith, Assistant Attorney General ("AAG").

C. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

No individuals address the officers during the public statements portion of the meeting.

D. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

• May 31, 2023 Joint Officers' Teleconference Meeting

MOTION: PA Shaff moved for the members to approve the May 31, 2023 Joint Officers' Meeting.

SECOND: PA Reina.

VOTE: The following members voted in favor of the motion: PA Shaff, PA Reina, Dr. Bethancourt and Dr. Krahn. The following member abstained: Dr. Figge. VOTE: 4-yay, 0-nay, 1-abstain, 0-recuse, 0-absent. MOTION PASSED.

E. DISCUSSION REGARDING NEXT JOINT OFFICERS' MEETING

• Discussion of Dates for Future Meeting

Board staff confirmed that the next meeting will be scheduled prior to the PA Board's August meeting.

• Discussion of Topics for Future Meeting

There were no future topics discussed.

F. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Dr. Krahn moved to adjourn. SECOND: Dr. Bethancourt. VOTE: The following members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Figge, Dr. Bethancourt, Dr. Krahn, PA Reina and PA Shaff. VOTE: 5-yay, 0-nay, 0-abstain, 0-recuse, 0-absent. MOTION PASSED.

The teleconference adjourned at 8:01 a.m.



Patricia E. McSorley, Executive Director